For this year’s NEVY Awards, the New England Venture Capital Association created the new award category of Next Pillar Tech Company in recognition of EMC on its way to getting acquired by Dell—and Cambridge-based Fuze, formerly known as ThinkingPhones, was selected as the first company to receive that honor.

The NEVCA handed out 17 awards across the tech and life science categories at the House of Blues in Boston Wednesday night.

Here are the winners of the NEVY Awards:

Technology Category

  • Hottest Startup (Seed Stage) – Accion Systems
  • Hottest Startup (A+) – Toast
  • Next Pillar Tech Company – Fuze
  • Rising Star Entrepreneur –TJ Parker & Elliot Cohen, PillPack
  • Angel of the Year – Jennifer Lum
  • Rising Star VC – Katie Rae, Project 11
  • Fund of the Year – General Catalyst
  • Exit of the Year – Rapid7
  • A photo of some of Toast's team members.
    Some of Toast’s employees.

    Entrepreneur of the Year – Langley Steinert, CarGurus

Life Science Category

  • Hottest Startup: Decibel Therapeutics
  • Rising Star Entrepreneur – Rosana Kapeller, Nimbus Therapeutics
  • Rising Star VC – David Grayzel, Atlas Venture
  • Deal of the Year – CRISPR Therapeutics
  • Exit of the Year – Editas Medicine
  • Digital Health Company of the Year – Runkeeper
  • Fund of the Year – Atlas Venture
  • Entrepreneur of the Year – Mary Lynne Hedley, Tesaro

The Technology Academy consisted of Josh Shanker of BookBub, Eric Paley of Founder Collective, T.J. Parker of PillPack, Dianne Hessan of Startup Institute, Ellen Rubin of ClearSky Data, Jan Bruce of meQuilibrium, Nicole Stata of Boston Seed Capital, C.A. Webb of Assemble VC and Lee Weiner of Rapid 7.

The Life Science academy consisted of Doug Fambrough of Dicerna Pharmaceuticals, Johannes Fruehauf of LabCentral, Neil Exter of Third Rock Ventures, Robert Urban of J&J Innovation, Zoe Barry of ZappRx, Rushika Fernandopulle of Iora Health, George Vlasuk of Navitor Pharmaceuticals, Michael Gladstone of Atlas Ventures, Gaye Bok of Excel Venture Management, Marian Nakada of J&J Dev. Corp and Levi Garraway of The Broad Institute.