MIT Professor Robert Langer, co-founder of InVivo Therapeutics Corporation, will be receiving praises from President Obama early this year, as a winner of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation. InVivo—a company developing technologies to treat spinal cord injuries—announced the news today to congratulate Langer, who also won the National Award of Science in 2006.

Langer is one of 23 researchers to receive the honor. And with that honor, he will join the ranks of five other engineers and inventors from MIT who have previously received the medal. Langer will also become one of only three Americans to have won both the National Medal of Science and the National Medal of Technology and Innovation.

Over 55 products—either currently in clinical trials or already approved by the FDA—have been developed with the help of Langer’s biomaterials research and drug/cell delivery innovations, according to InVivo’s Chief Executive Officer Frank Reynolds.

“The range of Bob’s humanitarian impact is only exceeded by his dedication to help people with ‘tough to solve’ unmet medical needs,” Reynolds said in the release. He claimed the InVivo team “couldn’t be happier” to see Langer recognized “for his major contributions to the worlds of biomaterials, tissue engineering, tissue regeneration and drug delivery.”

Harvard University Professor Barry Mazur will also receive a National Medal of Science Award at a White House ceremony in early 2013, according to a release from the White House, who put together the list of this year’s recipients included below.

National Medal of Science

Dr. Allen Bard, University of Texas at Austin, TX
Dr. Sallie Chisholm, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, MA
Dr. Sidney Drell, Stanford University, CA
Dr. Sandra Faber, University of California, Santa Cruz, CA
Dr. Sylvester James Gates, University of Maryland, MD
Dr. Solomon Golomb, University of Southern California, CA
Dr. John Goodenough, University of Texas at Austin, TX
Dr. M. Frederick Hawthorne, University of Missouri, MO
Dr. Leroy Hood, Institute for Systems Biology, WA
Dr. Barry Mazur, Harvard University, MA
Dr. Lucy Shapiro, Stanford University School of Medicine, CA
Dr. Anne Treisman, Princeton University, NJ

National Medal of Technology and Innovation

Dr. Frances Arnold, California Institute of Technology, CA
Dr. George Carruthers, U.S. Naval Research Lab, DC
Dr. Robert Langer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, MA
Dr. Norman McCombs, AirSep Corporation, NY
Dr. Gholam Peyman, Arizona Retinal Specialists, AZ
Dr. Art Rosenfeld, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, CA
Dr. Jan Vilcek, NYU Langone Medical Center, NY

Photo Courtesy of MIT