D.C. is packed with world-class thinkers, companies, and entrepreneurs. We know how deep that talent really is after sifting through hundreds of nominations for this year’s 50 on Fire awards. Each and every day our team has an ear to the ground, attending events, interviewing entrepreneurs and scoping out every damn angle of this highly charged world that we call “D.C.’s Innovation Community.”

Once a year, it’s our job to consolidate our expertise and highlight the best from the past year of editorial coverage. We do this with a little guidance from our community of investors, founders and startup employees who read DC Inno every day. They helped us out with dozens of nominations, and we sorted through them all to come up with our list of finalists.

Take note. This isn’t your typical rankings list where individuals have to be under a certain age or fit into a well-defined box. We carefully consider every nomination, from two person design shops to massive public companies, from craft breweries to cybersecurity firms. 50 on Fire is a reflection of D.C. — a collection of people and organizations in different roles, stages and categories who are making an impact on this city. Setting it on fire, if you will.

The finalists also include individuals we have been profiling all summer long in our DC Innovators series. We hand-picked 75 people we think have been crushing it in their respective fields in D.C. and featured them here.

Below are the city’s 150 finalists for this year’s event, broken up into 9 categories – Community, Design, Education, Government & Advocacy, Healthcare & Medicine, Investment, Lifestyle, Marketing & Advertising, and Technology.

Next, our team of expert judges will help us narrow the list of 150 finalists down to 50 winners. Leading up to the big event, we’re hosting an exclusive Meet the Judges Meetup allowing nominees, past winners, and community leaders to network with our expert panel of judges over cocktails and light bites. Find out more information and purchase your tickets here.

Then on December 1st, be sure to join us at the Howard Theatre to find out who wins.

Here are your 2016 finalists for 50 on Fire.

Community Finalists

Jonathan Aberman – Amplifier Ventures

Lily Cua – Aspire

Veni Kunche – Code with Veni, Code Better Together & United Women of Tech

Adam Segal – Cove

Angela Fox – Crystal City Business Improvement District

Jessica Bell – Deloitte Digital/DC Tech Meetup

Andrew Chang – Eastern Foundry

Dominique Taylor – 1776

Leslie Tita – I/O Spaces LLC

Shana Glenzer – MakeOffices

Maria Rose Belding – MEANS Database

Kathleen O’Keefe – Up Top Acres

Amelia Friedman and Anna Mason – Vinetta Project DC

Design Finalists

David Shove-Brown – //3877

Morgan West – A Creative DC

Suann Song – Appointed

Tracy Bromley – Bespokery

David Waguespack – Case Design Remodeling

Mike Van Hall – Committee on Opprobriations

Gary Williams – Creative Theory

Susan Tynan – Framebridge

Eric Astor – Furnace Records

Buddy Bernhard – Local Motors

Peter Chang and Brandon Hill – No Kings Collective

Payman Taei – Visme

Gavin Daniels – Wingate Hughes

Education Finalists

Chip Paucek – 2U

Sonal Shah – Beeck Center at Georgetown University

Michelle Brown – CommonLit

Sara Herald – Dingman Center for Entrepreneurship at the University of Maryland

Tony Orlando – DubLabs

Greg Davies – Full Measure Education

Shanaz Chowdhery – General Assembly

Mikah Sellers – Grafik

Alix Guerrier – LearnZillion

Jake Schaufeld – Real Time Cases

Shannon Tucker – Reingold Inc.

Kai-leé Berke – Teaching Strategies

Government & Advocacy Finalists

Perianne Boring – Chamber of Digital Commerce

Melissa Medina – Congressional App Challenge and Internet Education Foundation

Hans Riemer – Council Member for Montgomery County, Maryland

Ernest Chrappah – DC Vehicles for Hire

John Lisle – DC Water

Michelle Phipps-Evans – District Department of Transportation (DDOT)

Steve Glickman and John Lettieri – Economic Innovation Group

Nika Nour –  Entertainment Software Association (ESA)

Tim Hwang – FiscalNote

Maura Corbett – Glen Echo Group LLC

Benjamin Bunker – The Global BrightLight Foundation

Daniel Hill – Green Impact Campaign

Robert Atkinson – Information Technology and Innovation Foundation

Carey Anne Nadeau – Open Data Nation

Ximena Hartsock & Jeb Ory – Phone2Action

Kendall Tucker – Polis

Alex Wirth and Jonathan Marks – Quorum

G. Nagesh Rao – U.S. Small Business Administration

Healthcare & Medicine Finalists

Mike Baird – Avizia

Ramu Potarazu – Binary Fountain

Jennifer Wong – CancerLinQ

Robin Wiener – Get Real Health

Craig Cheifetz, M.D. – Inova

Cameron Ferroni – Kit Check

Chris Millet, Bobby Jones, and Dolly Singh – Lazy

Rohan Bhobe – Nava

Drew Ladner – Pascal Metrics

Justin Li- Qore Performance

Rich Bendis – Relevant Health

Melissa Hunfalvay – RightEye

Bill Evans – Rock Health

Investment Finalists

Donna Harris – 1776

Julia Taxin – Grotech Ventures

Jason Towns – Groundwork VC

Harry Alford – Humble Impact

Rick Gordon – MACH37

Ted Leonsis – Monumental Sports Group

Dayna Grayson –  New Enterprise Associates (NEA)

John Backus – New Atlantic Ventures

Brett Gibson – NextGen Venture Partners

Donn Davis – Revolution Growth

Justin Howell – Rize

Fred Schaufeld – SWaN & Legend

Matt Fellowes – United Income

Ross Baird – Village Capital

Andy Lustig – Cooley LLP

Lifestyle Finalists

Michael Lastoria – &pizza

Andrew Kelley, Kai Leszkowicz, and Richard Thompson – Aslin Beer Co.

Justin Cox – Atlas Brew Works

Farrah Skeiky – Dim Sum Media

Ryan Costello – Event Farm

Alan Clifford – Galley

Erik Bruner-Yang – Maketto/Toki Underground

Ayeshah Abuelhiga – Mason Dixie Biscuit Co.

Ann Yang and Phil Wong – Misfit Juicery

Pia Carusone – Republic Restoratives

Ariel Pasternak – Stumptown Coffee/Pineapple DC

Rosy and Donna Khalife – Surprise Ride

Jose Andres – ThinkFoodGroup

Jocelyn Galliot – Tuckernuck

Cullen Gilchrist and Jonas Singer – Union Kitchen

Ajay Kori – UrbanStems

Marketing & Advertising Finalists

Jason Siegel – Bluetext

Annie Perezchica – BrandLinkDC

Elaine Mensah – BrandMeetsCreative

Ryan Healy – Brazen

Emily Yu – Case Foundation

Leah Nurik – Gabriel Marketing Group

DJ Saul – iStrategy Labs

Alisa Valudes Whyte – Merritt Group

Roy Schwartz – NGMC

Scott Reitzel – Purple Strategies

Ted Chiodo – SKDKnickerbocker

Chip Colbert – Starfish Institute

Allen Gannett – TrackMaven

LaRhonda Burley – Washington Redskins

Technology Finalists

Brian Ballard – APX Labs

Logan Soya – Aquicore

Kiran Bhatraju – Arcadia Power

Neil Kataria – Basket Savings

David Giannini – CirrusWorks

Naj Husain – Cloudistics

Zvi Band – Contactually

Reggi Aggarwal – Cvent

John Franklin – DroneShield

Michael Morgan – Everblume

Tom Davidson – EverFi

Dave Merkel – Expel

Chris Villar – Frontpoint

Kate Glantz – Heartful.ly

Michael Avon – ICX Media

Tanel Suurhans – ID.me

Andrew Rosen – Interfolio, Inc.

Giadha DeCarcer – New Frontier Data

Kristian Bouw – Notion Theory

Adam Vitarello and Toby Moore – Optoro

Jay Chapel – ParkMyCloud

Rohyt Belani – PhishMe

Paul McQuillan – PlanetRisk

Thomas Sanchez – Social Driver

Dan Berger – Social Tables

Fitz Holladay – SoFar Sounds

AJ Jaghori – Solebrity

Cherian Thomas – Spotluck

Jos Schaap – StayNTouch

Adam Vincent – ThreatConnect

Ryan Croft – TransitScreen

Lily Bengfort – UAS/Blackwater Distilling

Joel Holland – VideoBlocks

Dmitry Dain and Michael W. Wellman – Virgil Security, Inc.

Emily Markmann – WeddingWire

Valerie Coffman – Xometry

Justin Langseth – Zoomdata

Want to be in the room for the big 50 on Fire reveal? Snag your Early Bird ticket to the main event on Dec. 1 to catch the premiere of the high-octane video announcing the winners, and celebrate with some of D.C.’s top influencers. Early Bird tickets are on sale through Nov. 4 so grab them while this deal is hot.

If you are interested in being a 50 on Fire Sponsor contact us.